Using a SharePoint list as a data source

By powerpivotgeek (dwickert@microsoft.com), on July 12th, 2010

So . . . here I am playing around with PowerPivot to get ready for a demo. As this is a group from the SharePoint dev team (actually SharePoint Online), I wanted to include some cool SharePoint functionality into the demo. Trying to be cool and ‘wow’ them, I decide to use a SharePoint list as a data source. I want to show the data mashup capabilities of PowerPivot so I have the bulk of my demo come from the Contoso sample database (the three product catalog tables) and the 4 million row Sales Fact table.

I create my SP list by extracting the 11 distinct manufacturers – and I assign them to a ‘shipper’ that I made up.

Continue reading: Using a SharePoint list as a data source

0 Responses to “Using a SharePoint list as a data source”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Denny Lee’s Tweets (1/2 of PowerPivot Twins!)

Copyright

Copyright © 2010 Denny G Lee - All Rights Reserved

